Sports Personality of the Year 2022 - Results

Sports Personality of the Year 2022 - Results

Students from every year group were honoured at our prestigious Sports Personality of the Year Awards ceremony on Thursday 1st December. 

The evening celebrates the sporting success, achievement and commitment of our students at St Cuthbert's in line with the prestigious BBC Sports Personality of the Year awards. We took the decision for our evening to take place in the same month as the annual BBC event to raise awareness of success in sport.

Over 100 invited guests gathered for the ceremony in our Drama Theatre which had been transformed for the evening.

The event was hosted by our Curriculum Leader for PE, Mrs V Jackson and there was special guest and ex-Liverpool and England goalkeeper, Chris Kirkland, to hand out our special awards.
Mrs Jackson said: "Tonight we celebrate all aspects of sporting success from individual and team achievements, to commitment and dedication shown to sport through various awards.

"As a community, we are extremely proud of all our students who show passion, commitment and enthusiasm for being active and participating in exercise and sport as much as possible."

A staggering amount of votes were cast this year by staff and students for the ultimate award - St Cuthbert’s Sports Personality of the Year.  This year’s winner, Abbie W represents all of the qualities celebrated during the evening, in particular with the amount of time and effort that has been put into her sports over the years.

To see all our winners from the evening, take a look at the categories and photos below.

Speaking to the young people present, Chris said, it was important to never to give up, even when it seemed that success was miles away.  He said: "Determination, hard work and a desire to succeed are what got me through some difficult times in my career."

A donation of £5 for a ticket could be made on the evening and all money raised went to Chris' chosen charity of the local Foodbank. Chris, along with Mrs Bayley and some of our student ambassadors will take the donations next week to St Helens Foodbank.


Young PE Superstar Award Winners:

Evie C

Harry K

Year Group PE Superstar Award Winners:

Year 8: Rhys H and Zuzanna S 

Year 9: Rebecca H and Ben N

Year 10: Amelia A and Ben M

Year 11: Rhoda A and Harrison R

PE Recognition Award Winners:

Year 8: Emily S

Year 9: Ellie-Mae J, William K and April P

Year 10: Charlotte B

Sports Ambassador Award Winners:

Year 7: Evie C

Year 8: Aimee-Leigh D, Archie M-D and Daniel R

Year 10: Elizabeth P



PE Achievement Award Winners:

Year 7: Ruby C and Abbie S

Year 8: Jacob F

Year 10: Lewis H and Ben C

Special Contribution to PE Award Winner:

Alumni Student Madie J

Team of the Year Award Winners:

Year 11 Rugby Team (2021-22)

Sports Personality of the Year Award Nominations:

Year 7: Kendall T

Year 8: Daisy B

Year 9: Joshua W and Abbie W

Year 10: Liam W

Year 11: Kelvin G, Harrison R and Sophie W


Winner: Abbie W

Take a look at some of Abbie's sporting achievements from over the last few years:

  • Plays Rugby League for Thatto Heath Crusaders and Rugby Union for Liverpool St Helens RUFC
  • Captains the U14’S Liverpool St. Helens squad
  • Awarded Player of the Year 2022 with Thatto Heath Crusaders
  • Awarded Coach’s Player of the Year with Liverpool St Helens RUFC
  • Helped to fundraise at least £5000 over the past 2 years
  • Reinvented the changing rooms for the girls, using club badges and inspirational quotes to ensure changing facilities are a positive and safe place for her team
  • Advocate of supporting the female game and empowering young women in Rugby across both codes