We are proud to announce that our Governing Body is Governor Mark nationally awarded. It is a kite mark which provides external evaluation of the quality of governance in a school.

"Governance is very strong. The chair of governors and his team have a deep knowledge of the school and have played a considerable part in bringing about the recent improvements." Ofsted, September 2016

Instrument of Government

  1. The name of the school is St Cuthbert's Catholic High School.
  2. The school is a maintained school, foundation voluntary aided.
  3. The name of the governing body is "The Governing Board of St Cuthbert's Catholic High School".
  4. The governing board shall consist of
    (a) 2 parent Governors
    (b) 1 LA Governor
    (c) 1 Staff Governor
    (d) 1 Headteacher Governor
    (e) 7 Foundation Governors
  5. Total number of Governors is 12 (plus 1 Associate Governor).
  6. The term of office for every Governor is 4 years.
  7. The Archdiocese in consultation with the governors is entitled to appoint foundation governors.
  8. St Cuthbert’s is a Catholic High School, in which students, staff, governors and friends will work together as a Christian family to live the message of the Good News of Jesus Christ to love God and our neighbour (Mark 12:29-31).
  9. This Instrument of Government comes into effect on 30th June 2015.
  10. This Instrument of Government was made by order of St Helens Local Authority in July 2015.


Information about our Governors:

Governor Name


Business Interest

 Date   appointed

 Date up for   re-election

Fr. Philip Swanson

Chairman/Foundation Governor

Chair of Governors at St Theresa's Catholic Primary School, St Helens 









Mrs. Catherine Twist

Headteacher/Teacher Governor

Headteacher at St Cuthbert’s




Mrs. Michelle Harrison

Foundation Governor




Mrs. Patricia St Pier

Foundation Governor

Retired Headteacher



Mrs. Paula Thompson

Foundation Governor

Civil Servant 







Mrs. Christine Williams

Foundation Governor




Mr. Paul Winstanley

Foundation Governor











Foundation Governor




Ms. Judith Godley

LA Governor








Mrs. Shirley Nield

Parent Governor

Local Authority Clerk

Vice-Chair of Governors at Primary School, St Helens



Miss. Joanne Grimes

Staff Governor

Deputy Headteacher at St Cuthbert's Catholic High School





Ms E. Earps

Parent Governor




Mr. Stuart Kingston

Associate Member

Retired Teacher







No governors have a pecuniary interest in the school.  All governors are unpaid volunteers.  

Governors’ Attendance record at Governing Board and Committee Meetings 2021/2022

Click here to view 


Governors’ Attendance record at Governing Board and Committee Meetings 2020/2021

Click here to view

Useful Resources